Class of 2019 Celebrates

Class of 2019 Celebrates

The Resurrection College Prep High School Class of 2019 was comprised of one hundred and four young women. The graduates celebrated their Baccalaureate Mass and Commencement ceremony at Holy Name Cathedral on Thursday, May 30, 2019. Reverend Daniel McCarthy celebrated the Baccalaureate Mass at Holy Name Cathedral, assisted by Reverend Robert Carlton. Diplomas were conferred by Resurrection College Prep President Sr. Donna Marie Wolowicki, C.R. and Principal Dr. Richard Piwowarski.

Since 1922, Resurrection has focused on developing strong, capable women who are confident, healthy, well-rounded and college ready.  The members of the Class of 2019 have distinguished themselves in academics, service, athletics and the arts and will be attending colleges and universities nationwide. Nineteen graduates were Illinois State Scholars in recognition of their outstanding academic achievement, including Angela ChristieVictoria CreedKayla DeCiccoRachel DietzKayla DiFrancoSarah EricksonAbbey GarciaJanna GeorgeKirsten LengfelderViviann MarkechKali MarpeMorgan McCarthyErin NolanGabriella O'HehirAlexandra TrekasMaya VasilicKiarra VillarazaElizabeth Walsh, andMary Claire Weber.

Sixteen graduating seniors are the daughters of Resurrection alumnae and during the Baccalaureate Mass, these graduates presented their alumnae mothers with a red rose to acknowledge the continued Resurrection legacy within their families. 

Twenty-one members of the Class of 2019 graduated with the distinction of being a Resurrection College Prep High School Mother Celine Scholar, including Maya AustinVictoria CreedKayla De CiccoRachel DietzKayla DiFranco,Sarah EricksonAbbey GarciaJanna GeorgeElla GoworowskiEmily KadusCaroline KomosaJustyna KukulkaGiuliana LaPorteKirsten LengfelderMorgan McCarthyErin NolanGabriella O'HehirAoife SwanAlexandra Trekas,Kiarra VillarazaGiang Vũ, and Mary Claire Weber.

During the Commencement ceremony that followed the Baccalaureate Mass, both the Principal’s Award and the Sr. Anne Medal of Distinction in Faith, Leadership and Service were presented. The Principal’s Award, presented by Principal Richard Piwowarski, recognizes a high-achieving graduating senior who has contributed to the school community through her service and scholarship and was awarded to Kayla DiFranco. The Sr. Anne Medal, presented by Resurrection President Sr. Donna Marie Wolowicki, C.R.,  recognizes a student who exemplifies the values of Resurrection College Prep and its 1922 founder, Sr. Anne Strzelecka, C.R., and was awarded to Giang Vu

The Resurrection motto, Charity & Truth, is core to the values and philosophy of Resurrection College Prep and is part of the school’s approach to education.  During the Commencement ceremony, Valedictorian Angela Christie presented a student address on the topic Charity. While at Resurrection, Angela was a Res Scholar, a Mother Celine Scholar and an Illinois State Scholar. She was a member of the Robotics Team, National Honor Society, and a vital member of the Resurrection Chamber Orchestra, where she played the violin. Angela was awarded the Resurrection Medal of Excellence Award in Math and Technology. She was a volunteer at The Bot Spot, helping children become passionate about STEM. Angela Christie will be attending the Milwaukee School of Engineering as a computer engineering major. 

Salutatorian Sarah Erickson presented a student address on the topic Truth. While at Resurrection Sarah was a Res Scholar, a Mother Celine Scholar, an Illinois State Scholar and an AP Scholar. She was President of the Anastasias Campus Ministry team, an Officer for Student Ambassadors and a leader with Liturgical Choir. Sarah was awarded the Resurrection Medal of Excellence Award in Religious Studies. She was co-captain of the Varsity Swim and Water Polo teams and received numerous sportsmanship awards. Sarah will be attending Saint Louis University as a double-major in chemistry and Classics (Ancient Greek and Latin). During her student address, Sarah Erickson shared with her classmates, “Salutatorian comes from the Latin word for hello, so in honor of that, I choose to greet the future before me, just as I hope that each one of my classmates can do the same. Let us choose to keep our memories of Resurrection close to our hearts, never sad to leave but happy for the years we had. Let us be thankful for the lessons Res taught us, both in the classroom and away from it. Instead of saying good-bye, let us instead say hello to the world of possibilities that now awaits each and every one of us.” 
Members of the Resurrection Class of 2019 were awarded over $16.5 million in scholarships and awards from colleges and universities nationwide, which is the highest per student award in Resurrection history, with an average student award of $158,000.  Graduates will be attending the following institutions: American Academy of Art, Augustana College, Ball State University, Benedictine University (IL), Bradley University, Butler University, Carroll University (WI), Colorado State University, Columbia College Chicago, Concordia University Chicago, Creighton University, DePaul University, Drake University, Eastern Illinois University, Harper College, Illinois State University, Iowa State University, Judson University, Lake Forest College, Loyola University Chicago, Marquette University, Michigan State University, Milwaukee School of Engineering, North Park University, Northeastern Illinois University, Northern Illinois University, Oakton Community College, Parkland College, Saint Louis University, Temple University, The University of Arizona, The University of Iowa, Triton College, University of California, Berkeley, University of Dayton, the University of Illinois at Chicago, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

  • Class of 2019
  • Graduation